The Old Church served as the parish church until 1844. The building has Norman origins, although the present building dates from the late 13th century. The tower was added in the 14th century and the porch in 1547, paid for by the pawning of the church plate.
By the 1840s, the church (which had become known as the ‘Green Church’ because of the ivy that had climbed the walls and roof) building had fallen into such a state of deterioration that it became necessary to abandon it. The church fell out of any use until its restoration in 1930.
Today, after further and more recent restoration, the church stands as a beautiful reminder of Chingford’s past. It is well worth a visit and forms a vital and living part of today’s Parish.